Back to Program Areas
Contact the Social Area

Graduate Office

Sherri Gilliland, Graduate Records



Department of Psychology 
125 Moore Building 
The Pennsylvania State University 
University Park, PA 16802-3106

You are here: Home / Graduate / Program Areas / Social / News


News from the Social Area

Ash Gills, Kaitlynn Hamaty, and Janet Swim have a publication in Sex Roles on the social consequences of engaging in feminine and masculine pro-environmental behaviors, which as been discussed on the Late Show with Stephen Colbert and covered by Bustle as well as a range of other media outlets. 

Dan Albohn received the Heritage Dissertation Award from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology.

Psychology Graduate Students participating at the Pride March!Pride March 2019

Flora Oswald and her colleagues have a publication in the Journal of Sex Research, which has been covered by VICE as well as other publications.

Danfei Hu co-authored a commentary to appear in Emotion Review.

Jonathan Gallegos is now Dr. Jonathan Gallegos and has accepted a Post Doc position with Dr. Cheryl Kaiser at Lindsay receives the Dr. Susan Rankin AwardUniversity of Washington.

Lindsay Palmer received the Dr. Susan Rankin Award, which honors someone who shows leadership, integrity, and has made outstanding contributions to Penn State related to LGBTQA+ advocacy and activism.Terri F SPSP poster

Terri Frasca received an honorable mention for her NFS GRF. Congratulations!

Mary Kruck received the Whitaker Memorial Fund research grant through Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.

Social Graduate Students at SPSP 2019Victoria Spring published an article in Scientific American stemming from her work on moral outrage.

Katie Lewis, Julian Scheffer, and Victoria Spring have been accepted to attend the 2019 Summer Institute in Social and Personality Psychology being held at New York University. 

Mary Kruk was named the Eleanor Roosevelt Scholar in the McCourtney Institute for Democracy.

Daniel Lim will be giving a symposium talk, “Past Adversity Mitigates the Adversity Bias in Compassion”, at the 31st annual convention of the Association for Psychological Science in Washington D.C. this May. Additionally, he will be giving an invited talk on the same work at the 6th World Congress on Positive Psychology in Melbourne, Australia. 

Victoria Spring, Daryl Cameron, and Mina Cikara now have a paper accepted in Trends in Cognitive Science entitled, "The upside of outrage". Spring SPSP2019

Victoria Spring received a Student Travel Award for SPSP 2019 and will chair a symposium entitled "The functions and perils of moral outrage" was accepted by SPSP. She, along with Daryl Cameron and Mina Cikara, will presenting their talk called, "The upside of outrage.". She also published a first-author article on empathy for pain among physicians in Social Psychological and Personality Science.

Julian Scheffer was accepted to give a talk at the SPSP 2018 Emotion preconference on political stereotypes about compassion.

Eliana Hadjiandreou received an Education Grant from the A.A. Leventis Foundation in Cyprus, which will provide a stipend to support her research on parochial empathy and prosociality.

Ph.D. Fall 2018Congratulations to our newly minted Ph. Ds! Kaitlin McCormick, Nathan Geiger, and Heather MacArthur.  

Nathan Geiger will be leaving us to become and Assistant Professor at Indiana University.

Heather MacArthur is joining Furman University in South Carolina.

Good news, both Carlos Garrido, Mikey Pasek, Kaitlin McCormick will be leaving us to start their new post-doctoral positions.

Congratulations to Heather MacArthur who received a 2017 Dissertation Award by the PSU Center for the Study of Sports in Society.

Dr. Stephanie Shields received the “Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award” (APA Div 1) for her long-lasting contributions to general psychology.Social_Grads_SanDiego

Jonathan Gallegos and Dr. Karen Gasper have a paper in Emotion on whether rejection makes people feel neutral and less empathetic.

Dr. Cameron and Victoria Spring and Andrew Todd published a paper in Emotion that examined a new method to assess empathy for pain.

Dr, Jonathan Cook was awarded $2.3 million to study doctoral student attrition in STEM fields from NSF.

Dr. Cameron and Julian Scheffer and others published a paper in Cognition that validated a new method to assess moral judgments.

Hyun Joon received and SPSP travel award to attend the 2018 SPSP Annual Convention in Atlanta, Georgia.

Congratulations to Kaitlin McCormick for receiving the 2017 Florence L. Geis Memorial Dissertation Award to help support her dissertation research. 

Congratulations to Julian Scheffer for receiving a Diversity Travel award to attend the Midwestern Psychological Association meeting this year in Chicago, IL. 

Heather MacAuthur and Kaitlin McCormick received a Constance Shehan Women's Studies Award to assist them with their research.

Mikey Pasek and Nathan Geiger were both selected to attend SISPP 2017. 

Joy Hachenbracht, a graduate of our program, was interviewed in a recent NPR story. 

Troy and Dan presenting their Poster at SPSPCongratulations to Michael Pasek for receiving Graduate Travel Award for the 2017 annual meeting of the Society for Personality and Social Psychology and for obtaining Research Seed Grant from the Society for the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality (APA Division 36) to investigate the role of social rejection in motivating Muslim radicalism.

Dr. Stephanie Shields received the Sue Rosenberg Zalk Award for Distinguished Service to the Society for the Psychology of Women for 2016. Professor Shields is being recognized for her mentorship and her leadership in creating and organizing the First and Second Institutes for Academic Feminist Psychologists.

Dr. Janet Swim will be giving a Stanley Hall Lecture at APA.

Nathan Geiger and Dr. Janet Swim were named Page Scholars this year.

Lizbeth Kim received an NSF honorable mention 2016

Kaitlin McCormick received a Superior Research and Teaching (STAR) Award from the College of the Liberal Arts. Spring 2016

Michael Pasek received a travel award to attend the 2016 annual convention of the Association for Psychological Science, in Chicago, IL. 

There are currently no items in this folder.

Return to Top