Back to Program Areas
Contact the Social Area

Graduate Office

Sherri Gilliland, Graduate Records



Department of Psychology 
125 Moore Building 
The Pennsylvania State University 
University Park, PA 16802-3106

You are here: Home / Graduate / Program Areas / Social / News


News from the Social Area
Victoria Spring, Daryl Cameron, and Mina Cikara now have a paper accepted in Trends in Cognitive Science entitled, "The upside of outrage". 

Victoria Spring received a Student Travel Award for SPSP 2019. She also published a first-author article on empathy for pain among physicians in Social Psychological and Personality Science.

Julian Scheffer was accepted to give a talk at the SPSP 2018 Emotion preconference on political stereotypes about compassion.

Eliana Hadjiandreou received an Education Grant from the A.A. Leventis Foundation in Cyprus, which will provide a stipend to support her research on parochial empathy and pro sociality.

Victoria Spring's symposium entitled "The functions and perils of moral outrage" was accepted by SPSP. She, along with Daryl Cameron and Mina Cikara, will presenting their talk called, "The upside of outrage."

Ph.D. Fall 2018Congratulations to our newly minted Ph. Ds! Kaitlin McCormick, Nathan Geiger, and Heather MacArthur.  

Nathan Geiger will be leaving us to become and Assistant Professor at Indiana University.

Heather MacArthur is joining Furman University in South Carolina.

Good news, both Carlos Garrido, Mikey Pasek, Kaitlin McCormick will be leaving us to start their new post-doctoral positions.

Congratulations to Heather MacArthur who received a 2017 Dissertation Award by the PSU Center for the Study of Sports in Society.

Dr. Stephanie Shields received the “Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award” (APA Div 1) for her long-lasting contributions to general psychology.Social_Grads_SanDiego

Jonathan Gallegos and Dr. Karen Gasper have a paper in Emotion on whether rejection makes people feel neutral and less empathetic.

Dr. Cameron and Victoria Spring and Andrew Todd published a paper in Emotion that examined a new method to assess empathy for pain.

Dr, Jonathan Cook was awarded $2.3 million to study doctoral student attrition in STEM fields from NSF.

Dr. Cameron and Julian Scheffer and others published a paper in Cognition that validated a new method to assess moral judgments.

Hyun Joon received and SPSP travel award to attend the 2018 SPSP Annual Convention in Atlanta, Georgia.

Congratulations to Kaitlin McCormick for receiving the 2017 Florence L. Geis Memorial Dissertation Award to help support her dissertation research. 

Congratulations to Julian Scheffer for receiving a Diversity Travel award to attend the Midwestern Psychological Association meeting this year in Chicago, IL. 

Heather MacAuthur and Kaitlin McCormick received a Constance Shehan Women's Studies Award to assist them with their research.

Mikey Pasek and Nathan Geiger were both selected to attend SISPP 2017. 

Joy Hachenbracht, a graduate of our program, was interviewed in a recent NPR story. 

Troy and Dan presenting their Poster at SPSPCongratulations to Michael Pasek for receiving Graduate Travel Award for the 2017 annual meeting of the Society for Personality and Social Psychology and for obtaining Research Seed Grant from the Society for the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality (APA Division 36) to investigate the role of social rejection in motivating Muslim radicalism.

Dr. Stephanie Shields received the Sue Rosenberg Zalk Award for Distinguished Service to the Society for the Psychology of Women for 2016. Professor Shields is being recognized for her mentorship and her leadership in creating and organizing the First and Second Institutes for Academic Feminist Psychologists.

Dr. Janet Swim will be giving a Stanley Hall Lecture at APA.

Nathan Geiger and Dr. Janet Swim were named Page Scholars this year.

Lizbeth Kim received an NSF honorable mention 2016

Kaitlin McCormick received a Superior Research and Teaching (STAR) Award from the College of the Liberal Arts. Spring 2016

Michael Pasek received a travel award to attend the 2016 annual convention of the Association for Psychological Science, in Chicago, IL. Daryl Cameron

Elaine Dicicco received the Susan Welch/Nagle Family Graduate Fellowship Award (Fall 2015) and it is for support in lieu of TAship for a semester while the student is working on the dissertation.

The Social Area welcomed Dr. Daryl Cameron! Dr. Cameron investigates the psychological processes involved in
empathy and moral decision-making, using an interdisciplinary approach drawing on affective Jes Matsickscience, social cognition, and moral philosophy.

The Social Area welcomes Dr. Jes Matsick!  Dr. Matsick is a stereotyping and prejudice researcher who focuses on the experiences of underrepresented group members, with a specific emphasis on lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, and transgendered (LGBQT) individuals, women, and ethnic minorities.

There are currently no items in this folder.

Return to Top